World Cup

Who is winning the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup?

2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup
June 7 – July 7, 2019
Defending Champions – United States (3rd title)
Last tournament’s Runners-up – Japan

The Champions are back to defend their crown.
Carli Llyod scored the only hat-trick in a World Cup final to see USA lift up title #3 in the 2015 Women’s FIFA World Cup.

Can the United States match Germany’s record of defending their World Cup title?
Will Germany win another World Cup title to equal United States’s can get a ‘third star’?
Can Japan can return to the final for the third straight time?
Can home advantage take the French team to the promised land for the first time?
Will Marta score goals for Brazil and add to her record 15 goals in the competition’s history?

4 Teams that have been in consecutive finals. (with only Germany winning both)
As a finalist in the last 2 editions of the competition, both United States and Japan are in a position to make it to a third consecutive final in 2019.

Consecutive World Cup final appearance
USA – 2011, 2015
Norway – 1991, 1995
Germany – 2003, 2007
Japan – 2011, 2015

The Tournament Favorites
United States, Germany, Japan.
USAThere isn’t a women’s football tournament that United States hasn’t walked into as the favorite to leave as champions. The defending champions, USA has the opportunity to become the first team to defend the title since Germany did so in 2007. A successful tournament will see USA have at least twice as many titles in the competition than any other nation.

GermanyOne more gold medal will see the Germans equal the record for the most titles in the competition’s history.

Japan having been to the final in the recent two editions of the tournament; winning one and falling short in the other.

FrancePlaying as host should help carry France. Their best finish was in the final 4 in 2011.
Will home advantage help France write this part of their history in the tournament?

EnglandCan England bring it home?

The Groups and team ranking by FIFA

Group A

‘Group A’ teams as ranked by FIFA
France – 4th
Norway – 12th
South Korea – 14th
Nigeria – 38th

Group B

‘Group B’ teams as ranked by FIFA
Germany – 2nd
Spain – 13th
China – 16th
South Africa – 49th

Group C

‘Group C’ teams as ranked by FIFA
Australia – 6th
Brazil – 10th
Italy – 15th
Jamaica -53rd

Group D

‘Group D’ teams as ranked by FIFA
England – 3rd
Japan – 7th
Scotland -20th
Argentina – 37th

Group E

‘Group E’ teams as ranked by FIFA
Canada – 5th
Netherlands – 8th
New Zealand – 19th
Cameroon – 46th

Group F

‘Group F” teams as ranked by FIFA
USA – 1st
Sweden – 9th
Thailand – 34th
Chile – 39th


Four nations are making their World Cup debut in the 2019 edition.
South Africa

41-year-old Formiga will be setting a record for the most World Cup participation when she features in the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup. It will be her 7th World Cup.

6 World Cups – Formiga(Brazil) / Homare Sawa(Japan)
5 World Cups – Kristine Lilly(United States)/ Bente Nordby(Norway)/ Birgit Prinz(Germany) /Karina LeBlanc(Canada) /Nadine Angerer(Germany) /Christie Rampone(United States)

Record top-scorer Marta is the only active player that has goals in double-digits.
2019 World Cup is an opportunity for Marta to reduce the odds of anyone beating her goalscoring record in the recent future.

A record 8-consecutive World Cup participation
Each of the World Cup winning nations have been part of every edition of the tournament. The 4 champions are joined by Sweden, Brazil, and Nigeria, to make the 7 nations that have been a part of all editions of the Women’s FIFA World Cup tournament.

7 nations have been part of the 7 finals played in the competition.
Only teams that have played in multiple World Cup finals have been champions.

USA – 3x Champions (Champions in 1991, 1999, 2015)
Germany – 2x Champions (Champions in 2003, 2007)
Japan – Champions (Champions in 2015)
Norway – Champions (Champions in 1995)

China, Brazil, and Sweden have all played finals without lifting the trophy.
Nigeria is the only team not to have reached a final amongst the 8 special teams

The Knockout Stages
June 22 – 25, 2019
Round of 16 matches.

June 27 -29, 2019

July 2-3, 2019

July 6, 2019
Third-place playoff

July 7, 2019

Well made futbol - done easy and delivered simply. With every content, you will sense our love for intelligent tactics, amazing goals and our love for the final minute suspense. How you fell in love with the ‘Beautiful Game’ is none of our business. We don’t care what name you call it either. As long as you have your hopes and pride on the line for an entire season, we will always share enough similarities to coexist. The day is exceptionally better when football is on the planner. We will always do more than our best to hack away the unessential and keep you up to date with what is happening in futbol today. Because of the mood swings that futbol can give us in a day, we are not too critical within 24hrs of a crushing defeat to any side.

Sign Up and Participate

To Top