Copa Libertaores after the First-Leg of the Round of 16.


The knockout round bracket guarantees that a team from Argentina will make it to the semifinal.

The ‘Round of 16’ included all 6 clubs that are representing Argentina, 6 of the 9 clubs representing Brazil, 2 of the 4 clubs from Paraguay, 1 of the 4 clubs representing Ecuador, and 1 of the 4 clubs representing Colombia.

ARGENTINA: Vélez Sarsfield, Talleres, River Plate, Colón, Boca Juniors, and Estudiantes
BRAZIL: Athletico Paranaense, Corinthians, Fortaleza, Flamengo, Atlético Mineiro, and Palmeiras
PARAGUAY: Cerro Porteño, Libertad
COLOMBIA: Deportes Tolima

The first leg ended with three winners and losers; two clubs from Brazil and another for Argentina.
Athletico Paranaense was one of the Brazilian clubs to win. The other was Palmeiras.
Palmeirasare on the right path to their 3rd straight title after a 3-0 win in Paraguay.
Velez shocked River Plate with a 1-0 win that could’ve been a victory by a bigger margin. Velez was the only Argentine team to win their first leg tie.

June 28.
Athletico Paranaense 2-1 Libertad
Emelec 1-1 Atlético Mineiro
Corinthians 0-0 Boca Juniors

June 29.
Deportes Tolima 0-1 Flamengo
Vélez Sarsfield 1-0 River Plate
Cerro Porteño 0-3 Palmeiras
Talleres 1-1 Colón

June 30.
Fortaleza 1-1 Estudiantes


Palmeiras (Brazil) and Boca Junior (Argentina) are the two teams that have successfully defended the title since 2000.
Boca Juniors won back-to-back titles in 2000 and 2001. Then another in 2003 and in 2007.
Palmeiras (Brazil) are the defending champions after holding on to the title in consecutive seasons.

The multiple title winners since 2000.
Boca Juniors (Argentina) 4x – in 2000, 2001, 2003, and in 2007.
Internacional (Brazil) 2x – in 2006 and in 2010.
River Plate (Argentina)2x – in 2015, and 2018.
Palmeiras (Brazil) 2x – 2020, and 2021.

An Argentine club has been the winner on 7 occasions. (4 clubs)
Boca Juniors
San Lorenzo
River Plate

A Brazilian club has been the winner on 10 occasions (8 clubs)
São Paulo
Atético Mineiro

A Colombian club has been the winner on two occasions. (2 clubs)
Once Caldas
Atlético Nacional

An Ecuadorian club and a Paraguayan club have won it once.
LDU Quito (Ecuador)
Olimpia (Paraguay)

2000 – Boca Juniors (Argentina)
2001 – Boca Juniors (Argentina)
2002 – Olimpia (Paraguay)
2003 – Boca Juniors (Argentina)
2004 – Once Caldas (Colombia)
2005 – São Paulo (Brazil)
2006 – Internacional (Brazil)
2007 – Boca Juniors (Argentina)
2008 – LDU Quito (Ecuador)
2009 – Estudiantes (Argentina)

2010 – Internacional (Brazil)
2011 – Santos (Brazil)
2012 – Corinthians (Brazil)
2013 – Atético Mineiro (Brazil)
2014 – San Lorenzo (Argentina)
2015 – River Plate (Argentina)
2016 – Atlético Nacional (Colombia)
2017 – Grêmio (Brazil)
2018 – River Plate (Argentina)
2019 – Flamengo (Brazil)

2020 – Palmeiras (Brazil)
2021 – Palmeiras (Brazil)
2022 – tbd (tbd)

Well made futbol - done easy and delivered simply. With every content, you will sense our love for intelligent tactics, amazing goals and our love for the final minute suspense. How you fell in love with the ‘Beautiful Game’ is none of our business. We don’t care what name you call it either. As long as you have your hopes and pride on the line for an entire season, we will always share enough similarities to coexist. The day is exceptionally better when football is on the planner. We will always do more than our best to hack away the unessential and keep you up to date with what is happening in futbol today. Because of the mood swings that futbol can give us in a day, we are not too critical within 24hrs of a crushing defeat to any side.
To Top